top of page

i live here now.

An Overwhelmed Extrovert.

I made it! I'm safe. Now, where do I begin?

How do I describe this feeling of week one on Remote Year? I can't. That's all there is to it - I'll do my best, but my writing capabilities simply aren't strong enough to convey the stomach-twisting, mind-racing, over-stimulating experience that is Week One.

Here's my attempt to describe this wild adventure:

  • I've met 60 people in three days hoping that within that group I have new friends, teachers, confidants, mentors, dance partners and life-lasting relationships - even though I'm struggling to remember most of their names (no pressure).

  • I've used GoogleTranslator to determine whether or not the tub at the grocery store that I was about to purchase was, in fact, butter.

  • I've claimed a bottle of wine as my child because doesn't a 2 liter plastic bottle of wine deserve a name and a good life? Meet Josepina...

  • I've barely been able to eat the past three days - forcing any protein and hydration down that I can. My stomach has been in constant knots.

  • I've found calmness in the smallest things:

  • Group laughter at our workspace because someone realized we've been working with the lights off all day,

  • Cooling off for the first (and only) time while sitting in the Adriatic Sea,

  • Seeing a "familiar" face because low-and-behold there are two Milwaukeeans on this trip.

  • I've determined that I packed half a suitcase of inappropriate clothing, tossing my Patagonia sweatshirts and leather leggings into the bottom of my suitcase. Our travel itinerary is chasing an "everlasting summer" and it's 100 degrees all month in Split. Who in their right mind packs leather leggings?

  • I've realized that one of my biggest fears before going on this trip, "What if the people on my program don't live up to my expectations" was severely misjudged and is now, "What if I don't live up to theirs?". There are so many incredible people doing so many incredible things that I know this year will consist of me being inspired by their journeys and stories - constantly striving to be the best version of myself so that I can live up to the amazing impact they are all having on me.

Although my first 48 hours have already consisted of a whirlwind of emotions, I cannot believe I am embarking on such an exciting adventure. At a group event last night, I already became challenged in my pursuit of honesty & vulnerability when others around me shared some of their darkest memories and powerful dreams. So comes the honesty in this blog post title... it's been two days and I've already felt inspired, challenged, mesmerized, anxious, hydrated (thanks, Josepina) and straight up - Overwhelmed.

As an extrovert in most settings, I didn't know that I could feel this overwhelmed by simply a social setting. There is so much to absorb, so much to retain, and so much to learn. My expectations and fears are higher than ever as I wrap up my first few days on Remote Year.

More to come as this reality sinks in and I allow more time for myself to process and reflect....


bottom of page