top of page

i live here now.

Riding the Highs and Lows of Remote Year

When you see the pictures, watch the videos, read the blog posts, life looks as good as it can get - and it is damn near close. But as we often talk about on Remote Year, the 'highs' are so high that the 'lows' are inevitably lower.

This month was no exception.

I started my month with one of the highest 'highs' of my year - Grant's visit - and already mentioned in my previous blog post about the 'low' after her left. Spending time with him was worth every minute of the heartache felt after he went home.

As a program whole, we had more hospital visits this month than any previous months; from scooter accidents and e-coli episodes, to my dad's heart scare.

What we learn during these high and low points is what makes this year so immensely special. The people surrounding me have offered a level of support that makes the fact that they were strangers 6 months ago, unfathomable. We experience these things together and grow stronger throughout it.

So, I cannot think of a more appropriate song to capture the emotional rollercoaster of Month 6 - January - in Chiang Mai, Thailand. Because this month, stronger than any other ,Yugen has taught me one of the most important lessons of my Remote Year experience - "You'll never be alone, even when your world explodes. Because after all the smoke clears, I will be right here."

Enjoy!


bottom of page