top of page

i live here now.

More Than Travel. Yugen Build.

If you're reading this, you already know the adventure I am on. You know that last July, I set off for a 12 month work and travel program with Remote Year. You may know that our program was named, Yugen. And you may or may not have known that I was a perfect balance of terrified and excited before I got on that airplane headed for Croatia.

At the top of my Type-A anxiety list, was regarding the other participants in my program. Although there were 60 of us, I wondered what these people would be like. Why did they sign up for this experience? Do we share values, perspectives, interests, humor? Would I find friends for a season, friends for a lifetime, or neither?

It didn't take long for this anxiety to subside. 48 hours to be exact. I wrote about it in my first on-the-ground blog post in Split.

Specifically I wrote, "...one of my biggest fears before this trip, 'What if the people on my program don't live up to my expectations' was severely misjudged and is now, 'What if I don't live up to theirs?'. There are so many incredible people doing incredible things that I know this year will consist of me being inspired by their journeys and stories, constantly striving to be the best version of myself so that I can live up to the amazing impact they are all having on me."

Ten months later, my realization in Split is still accurate. Let me tell you why.

Remote Year Positive Impact

Most Remote Year communities try to volunteer in each city they're living in, Yugen included. But it didn't feel like enough for us. Sure, we made a huge impact building that solar-powered water heater in Argentina, and I know the women and children appreciated our gardening and support at the Wildflower home in Thailand. However, we are traveling for 12 months. We are hopping between cities and countries every 30 days. Taking advantage of so much privilege that we have been given. And we want to contribute something greater, that will have a lasting impact on one of the countries we're visiting.

Introducing Yugen Build

In January, we established an ambitious goal to raise $116,000 in order to build 58 homes for families in Bogotá, Colombia. Since we are spending two of our final months in Colombia, and Bogotá is home to one of the world's largest "mega-slums", this was a clear location choice. Equal to the entire population of Seattle, Washington - 700,000 people live in informal communities in Bogotá.

We are partnering with TECHO, a non-profit organization who seeks to overcome the situation of poverty in which millions of people live in informal settlements. If we accomplish our goal, Yugen will complete the largest scale single-build project with TECHO in Colombia and raise the most funds for a Remote Year single positive impact initiative in company history.

What I find most inspiring and unique to this Yugen initiative, is that everything we have done, has been home-grown. From establishing the partnership with TECHO, developing the hype video you will see below, developing logos, designing our website, curating supportive marketing materials, corporate sponsorship and personal fundraising outreach, every single Yugen has contributed their individual skills to this initiative. We have photographers, drone-fliers, PR professionals, marketers, graphic designers, editors, entrepreneurs, accountants, web designers, strategists, passion-seekers and damn-good humans pouring their hearts, souls, time and energy to lead this charge.

...Can I burst with pride for a minute? I mean, really, HOW COOL IS THAT?!

I'm leaving this video here for you to get a glimpse into the remarkable, inspiring individuals I've been able to call my family this year. And the project that we are passionately pursuing. If you feel compelled, we would love for you to become a part of our journey by donating, sharing, clapping or simply learning about our goal to raise $116,000 for 58 families in Colombia.

We're not the only ones excited about this. Read what Remote Year has to say about Yugen Build. Or check out We Are Travel Girls take on this project. After hearing our story, I hope that you are excited and inspired by this initiative as well.

And our program name - YUGEN - as it turns out, was serendipitously chosen.

Yugen (幽玄): A profound, mysterious sense of the beauty of the universe

My anxieties didn't hinder me from packing my bags and getting on that airplane. I couldn't describe it, but I knew that I was bound for something beautiful. Not just the countries, food, art, and experiences - but also the people. What laid ahead was a mystery at the time, but the profound sense of beauty that I felt was coming, did not disappoint.

We would love your support for this initiative. Please consider sharing this story with others so that they can be inspired by the incredible people that I have been lucky to be inspired by this year.

With all the love,

Jamie


bottom of page